A few days off! Or so we thought…

On the 3rd November, everyone was blessed with the news that we would be receiving four days off;  that Friday and then from Monday through to Wednesday. Revich then excited us even further by telling the class that we could have the Saturday off as well! We left the studio beaming with the images of long lie-ins snuggled up in our warm beds, film marathons and pyjama days whizzing through our heads.

I spent Friday, as planned, in bed. I ransacked my collection of Disney DVD’s and had a small Disney Marathon, reminding me of my childhood! I have to say, I enjoy watching the old classics much more than the latest Disney movies with the improved colour and sound definition!

Revich called Friday evening with the news that she had been contemplating her decision to allow us the extra day off and had decided to kindly retract the offer. No one was annoyed by her decision to have ballet; everyone was merely dreading the 7am wake up, having previously planned to sleep until noon! But it would be fine as we  would just have  a ballet class and then straight back to our beds – or so we thought! At the end of the class Revich dropped yet another bombshell on us. She had also made the decision to have a Repertoire Class at noon.  9 girls raised their hands to say that they wouldn’t be able to attend as they had already pre-booked seats to see a show that afternoon, so Hayley and I were relieved, assuming immediately that Revich would postpone the class to another day. Wrong again! She decided she would take the remaining 4 of us for class.

Promptly at noon, Hayley, Federica (from Italy), Precious (from USA) and I, arrived outside Studio 7. Revich told us to put on our Pointes and she would quickly run a few warm up exercises before Repertoire itself. 2 hours later, after ‘a few warm up exercises’ and no repertoire at all, we were allowed to waddle out of the class.    After returning to my room and taking my shoes off, I found that I had lost my two baby toe nails and acquired in their place two giant blisters – Yummy!    Evidently my feet were not prepared for that 2 hour Pointe Class!    That evening for a well earned treat, we went to TGI Fridays and I was able to indulge in their creamy tomato and basil soup and mushroom soup bowls.

On the Sunday, Hayley, Heather and I began our Christmas shopping! We roamed through the outdoor Russian Market, located next to Red Square and inside the underground shopping mall.   I was thankful for the indoor shopping mall that day,  it was absolutely freezing   and even my gloves were struggling to keep my fingers warm and cosy! It was an extremely successful trip for Hayley and I, but I won’t ruin the surprise and mention what was bought in case the receivers of these gifts are reading!

Monday was spent much like the previous Friday, relaxing in front of a good movie, in the comfort of our rooms.    Tuesday, as I have already mentioned, was filled with a modern master class; for all those brave people who attended! Our final day off was spent preparing for a new day of classes. It was as if I had blinked and our days off were gone! The short holiday passed by so quickly and if I am honest, I didn’t feel I had rested enough to start the daily routine of 7am wake up calls again!

From Thursday through to Saturday, because the younger children were still on their week’s holiday and Revich didn’t have to dash to a class or rehearsal after ballet, our class was elongated to give us time to learn all of our new jumps. This sounded like a bullet proof plan, what an excellent way to take advantage of the free studios! Unfortunately, planning to jump for an extra hour on top of ballet and actually having to muster the energy to jump for an extra hour couldn’t be at further ends of the spectrum! To put it plainly, it was tough, and after having 3 consecutive days of 2.5 hour ballet classes, it made our usual class on Monday feel like a walk in the park!

The highlight of my week however, was when Teresa Mackay, of Youth Arts in Action, asked me to lend a hand at the MPC Harvest Ball (a charity auction to raise money for Children). The auction was held at the Ritz and one of the auction lots was a private tour around the new Bolshoi Theatre, as well as signed Pointe shoes and photos of both famous and training dancers at the theatre and the Academy.    Hayley, Daniel and I were all asked to donate photos and shoes – it was very strange signing my Pointe shoes to give away, considering we are only students in training!

Teresa asked if I would don a Tutu and present the Lot alongside Julian and Nicholas Mackay.  Our Lot went for just under 4000 US dollars –  not sure whether it was a basket of smelly old shoes or the Bolshoi Tour that drew in the bidders! Daniel who was supposed to support me on the night and help calm my nerves,  but instead managed to wangle his way into the Harvest Ball dinner and enjoyed a 5 star, 3 course meal; leaving me to prepare in another room! Thanks mate! I can’t complain too much because I had Julian and Nicholas to entertain me. We played Checkers, rehearsed our entrance and small presentation piece, and they even had time to teach me a very strange American clapping game!

Ever since the Auction, I have maintained the braided hairstyle in ballet classes as well.   Unfortunately, this means poor Hayley has to sit and pleat my hair every evening for me, because firstly she is better at it, and secondly, I means I do not have to lift a finger in the morning and can enjoy a few extra minutes in bed; Natalie Carter, bringing the definition of lazy to a new level!

2 thoughts on “A few days off! Or so we thought…

  1. Hello Natalie.
    I go to gypsy Booth and I am 11 years old.
    I was in the last performance you ever had there i was in a pink dress and feather headband and the Dance Was lead by Rachel.
    You taught me in one lesson and then you got a key stuck in your foot (ouch!)
    I really Hope you are doing well you are such a star and you are my roal model
    I would love to be a dancer and I hope some day I will be as great and as amazing as you.
    (-: From Emily Quillin

Leave a comment